Frustration with the Early Intervention Programs

[tweetmeme source=”euphorialuv” only_single=false http://www.URL.com%5D

Sheer anger and frustration is pushing me to write a blog at 8am in the morning. If I don’t find any outlet for my feeling I’ll implode! For months now I’ve been going through the process of getting my son services for his speech delay. While you’d think things would go smoothly I will scream it from the roof tops that things have been a issue from first day.

First I had to deal with intake coordinators who didn’t know what they were doing. Then I had to deal with service center staff who went on vacation when they were suppose to be providing services.

Now that last straw to break my camel back is the case coordinator who has gone MIA when he’s suppose to be helping me. I’ve email him, called him and been very patient but today as I watched my son react in frustration due to not knowing how to tell me something, I reached my point with this early intervention system.

I’m trying the best I can at home to encourage my son to talk but I need help. That’s the the reason why I contacted the early intervention program. To help me help my son. but we’re not getting the help!

I called the case coordinator and told him I had enough. I’m ready to make a compliant about services St. Mary’s Hospital for Children claims to provide. Yes I’m naming names and going over his head. Then I called the Bureau of Early Intervention at NYS Dept of Health in Albany to see who I should contact. I was surprised someone answered the phone. It’s 8am in the morning! I explained my issue and asked who to make the complaint with. I was given a name and transferred. I left a detail message and you bet I will be following up with that person.

Honestly I don’t have the extra time or emotional energy to start this length process but I will have to find it. How heartless of these people to fck around when it comes to helping a child. Don’t think they think about how their actions is affecting a child’s life? Well I’m going to make them think about it!

Update: OMG. I just got off the phone with the person I left a message for. I explained everything to her and worked out a plan of action for me to take. First start, writing a form letter of complaint. I think you know I got the writing a complaint part covered. LOL.

Second she’s going to contact the Director of Consumer Affairs in my area, explain the situation and ask her to follow up with me about the lack of services being provided by these centers. She will also help me find new centers to help my son. Woot! I feel much better that I was able to be the voice for me son while he’s still learning to find his.

Like this article? Subscribe to the RSS feed or for email updates!

About Nikki @ AsianBlackCo

Founder & Owner of the Asian & Black Communities (ABC) online support group
This entry was posted in Parenting. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Frustration with the Early Intervention Programs

  1. Yakini says:

    It’s so great that you took action AND followed up. That is the only way to make sure these folks don’t continue to screw around with people’s lives and provide others with such piss-poor service.

  2. Sharon says:

    That is great you got right on that.
    And some utterly ridiculous behaviour by those who let the ball drop.
    The early he starts with speech therapy/OT the better.

  3. Lisa says:

    I hope you get this fixed. I think it’s a city thing. V had a speech delay and after my first call and a referral from her doctor, it took a couple of weeks for services. Good luck girl!

  4. niri says:

    We should talk – as much as pushing these guys to get what you rightly deserve – you need to look at other avenues in parallel. That means the whole procedure thingy (which is crappy and I should know) does not get in the way of him getting his services.

Leave a Reply

